Beverly Sills Index Page

Plaisir D'Amour


1. Lenoir: "Parlez moi d'amour"

2..Bizet: "Ouvre ton Coeur"

3. Liszt: "Oh, quand je dors"

4. Gounod: Mireille: "O légère hirondelle

5. Koechlin: "Si tu le veux"

6. Delibes: "Les filles de Cadix"

7. Poulenc: "Les chemins de l'amour"

8. Martini: 'Plaisir d'amour'

9. Dell'Acqua: "Villanelle"

10. Granados: Goyescas: "Interludio" -orchestra only

11. Granados: Goyescas: "La maja y el ruseñor!"

12. Ponce: "Estrellita"

13. Castellaños: "La morena de mi copla"

Conductor: Andre Koselanetz, Columbia Symphony

Date & Location:
Tracks 1-9: October 1-2 & 21, 1975; Columbia 30th St. Studio, New York City
Tracks 10-13: February 8, 1961; Manhattan Center, New York City

Label & Catalog numbers:
CD SMK 60576 Sony Classical
LP M 33933 Columbia (did not include the four 1961 items)
LP P2S 5720 Columbia Musical Treasury
LP DMS 622 Columbia Musical Treasury

NOTE: In the Sony CD liner notes, Sills says she didn't remember recording the three Spanish numbers or for what purpose. Columbia issued only the Granados and the Ponce items in the early 1970s twice - on a 2-LP set "Romantic Music of Spain" (P2S 5720), a compilations of various orchestras and conductors; and, more strangely, on the LP "Puccini for Orchestra" (DMS 622), which had "guest artist Beverly Sills" on side one with the two Spanish numbers, and six Puccini arias for orchestra only conducted by Kostelanetz on side two.